General Order | = [
January 28, 2021 500-12
Houston Police Department REFERENCE: Supersedes all prior conflicting
Circulars and Directives, and General Order
G 500-12, dated March 21, 2014,

SUBJECT: RESPONSE TO MENTAL HEALTH INCIDENTS

POLICY

Incidents involving persons displaying symptoms of a mental health crisis may be volatile and
unpredictable. In all emergencies stemming from a mental health crisis, department employees
shall utilize the least coercive measures to secure the welfare of all those concerned, unite
consumers with needed services, and divert them from the criminal justice system whenever
appropriate. Employees shall be professional and respond humanely to individuals in a mental
health crisis.

Whenever reasonably possible, the department will utilize Crisis Intervention Trained (CIT)
officers to respond to incidents or calls for service involving persons displaying symptoms of a
mental health crisis. For safety purposes, and when resources allow, two officers shall be
dispatched to incidents when available information indicates the invoivement of persons who are
exhibiting symptoms of a mental health crisis.

This General Order applies to only classified employees and Emergency Communications
Divislon employees.

DEFINITIONS

Crisis Intervention Response Team (CIRT). A team comprised of a uniformed CIT officer
partnered with a licensed mental health professional to respond to persons exhibiting a menfaf
health crisis.

Crisis Intervention Trained (CIT) Officer. An officer who has successfully completed the Texas
Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) 40-hour Mental Health Officer or TCOLE 40-hour
CIT course.

Medical Condition. For the purposes of this General Order, a medical condition is a physical
injury, iliness, or condition other than a psychological disorder or mental illness.

Mental Health Crisis. A condition in which a person is a substantial risk of harm to themselves
or others due to a mentaf illness. A substantial risk may be demonstrated by the person’s
behavior, or by evidence of severe emotional distress and deterioration of the person’s mental
condition,

Mental lliness. An iliness, disease, or condition, other than epilepsy, dementia, substance
abuse, or intellectual disability, that substantially impairs a person’s thought, perception of reality,
emotional process, or judgment, or grossly impairs behavior as demonstrated by recent disturbed
behavior. A person with mental illness may not be denied admission or commitment to a mental
health facility because the person also suffers from epilepsy, dementia, substance abuse, or
intellectual disability.
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Notification of Emergency Detention (NED). For the purpose of this General Order, a NED,
which is also referred to as an Emergency Detention Order (EDOQ), is a standard notification form
that allows a Texas peace officer to detain a person who is mentally ill for psychological
evaluation because the person is an immediate threat to seif or another person. This form, which
is available on the department’s Intranet Portal, does not require notarization. The NED only
guarantees an evaluation will be done; it does not guarantee any form of treatment.

AUTHORITY TO APPREHEND

The authority to apprehend a person in a mental health ctisis by using the Notification of

Emergency Detention (NED) is granted by the Texas Health and Safety Code, Section 573.001.

A peace officer, without a warrant, may take a person into custody, regardless of age, if the officer

has reason to believe and does believe both of the following apply:

a. The person is a person with mental ifiness and because of that mental ifiness there is a
substantial risk of serious harm to the person or others unless the person is immediately
restrained, and;

b. The officer believes that there is not sufficient time to obtain a warrant before taking the
person into custody.

A “substantial risk of serious harm to the person or others” may be demonstrated by either of the
foilowing:

c. The person’s specific recent behavior, overt acts, attempts, or threats.

d. Evidence of severe emotional distress and deterioration in the person s mental condition to
the extent that the person cannot remain at liberty.

Officers may form the belief that the person meets the above criteria for apprehension based on
either of the following:

e. Information from a credible person.

f. Conduct of the person or the circumstances under which the person is found.

PERSONS EXHIBITING A MENTAL HEALTH CRIS{S WITHOUT CRIMINAL CHARGES

Officers who take into custody any person exhibiting a mental health crisis shall follow the
procedures outlined in General Order 500-02, Handling and Transporting Prisoners and
Other Persons.

If a person who is believed to be in a mental health crisis is in need of emergency mental health
treatment and the District Attorney’s Office does not accept Class B or higher charges, then the
officer shall take the person into custody without a warrant. When a person is apprehended under
a NED, consent of the person is not required. Officers who take a person into custody in this
manner shall immediately inform the person in simple, non-technical terms the reason for and
location of the detention, that a staff member of the facility shall inform the person of the person’s




General Order #500-12 | ISSUE DATE: january 28, 2021 PAGE: #3

rights within 24 hours after the person is admitted to a facllity, and that the detention could resuit
in a longer period of involuntary commitment.

Officers shall first attempt to utilize the Neuropsychiatric Center (NPC) if there are no co-existing
medical conditions. if the NPC is on diversion, officers may utilize the services of any hospital
with a dedicated emergency department, or, if eligible, the VA Medical Center. A private
psychiatric facility may also be utilized if officers have confirmed there is a bed available and the
person has an accepted health insurance.

If a person exhibiting a mental health crisis also has a co-existing medical condition that requires
treatment by a medical facility, the person shall be taken direcfly to a hospital with a dedicated
emergency department.

Upon arrival at the appropriate mental health facility, the officer shall complete the NED and
provide it to the medical staff. Once the person has been accepted by facility staff under
emergency detention, the officer shall complete an incident report and return to duty. Officers
should bhe aware that the person shall undergo a preliminary examination by the facility and shall
be admitted under emergency detention only if the examining physician believes that the person
meets the criteria discussed in Section 1 of this General Order and that emergency detention is
the least restrictive means by which the necessary restraint may be accomplished. Officers
should be aware that the person shall be released by the facility if the above criteria are not met
or within 48 hours, whichever occurs first, Officers shall not file Class C misdemeanor charges if
the person is admitted to a treatment facility,

if officers have knowledge that the person taken into custody under a NED has been declared a
ward by a probate court, the officer shall notify the applicable probate court as soon as
practicable.

Persons Not in Need of Emergency Mentai Health Treatment

If a person undergoes preliminary examination by the facility while the officer is present and it is
determined that the person is not eligible for emergency detention, the officer shall transport the
person back to the location of the person’s apprehension, the person’s local residence, or another
suitable location. The officer shall not transport the person if the person objects to the
transportation or if the person wants to voluntarily seek admission for mental health treatment.
Any person 16 years of age or older may voluntarily request admission for inpatient mental health
treatment. The officer shall not transport the person to a second facility for a second mental health
examination.

Juveniles Exhibiting Mental Health Crisis

In addition to the requirements above, officer shall contact a Juvenile Division supervisor for
guidance and to coordinate all juvenile dispositions per General Order 500-06, Disposition of
Arrested Juveniles when dealing with juveniies exhibiting mental health crisis.

When taking a juvenile into custody for emergency detention, officers shall first attempt to utilize
the NPC. If the NPC is on diversion, officers may utilize the services of Texas Children’s Hospital
or any hospital with a dedicated emergency department. Whenever possible, a parent or
guardian should accompany the juvenile to the treatment facility. If a person is under the age of
18 and his or her behavior meets the elements for emergency detention under Chapter 573 of
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the Health and Safety Code, consent of the person or a parent or a guardian is not required.
Nevertheless, officers should obtain parental consent whenever possible before transporting a
person under the age of 18 for emergency mental health treatment.

A parent or guardian may voluntarily sign the juvenile in for treatment. A private psychiatric facility
may also be used if officers have confirmed there is a bed available and if the juvenile has an
accepted health insurance. -

Juveniles Not in Need of Emergency Mental Health Treatment

If a person under the age of 18 is transported to NPC or another treatment facility for psychiatric
evaluation, but is found not to be in need of immediate mental heaith treatment, hospital staff will
not be able to provide voluntary treatment to juveniles 15 years of age or under without parental
consent. For this reason, the officer shall remain with the juvenile until a parent or guardian is
contacted and arrives. A person 16 years of age or older may consent to voluntary treatment,
with or without the consent of a parent or guardian.

If a parent or guardian of a person under the age of 18 cannot be located, the officer shall contact
the Statewide Intake Division of Child Protective Services (CPS8} and the Special Victims Division
for further instructions. Officers shall list the CPS case number and the name of the person taking
the report in the incident report. Because each situation involving a juvenile is different, officers
should adhere to the requests of the NPC or other facility staff when releasing custody of a
juvenile, with authorization from the Juvenile Division supervisor.

PERSONS EXHIBITING A MENTAL HEALTH CRISIS WITH CRIMINAL CHARGES

Officers shall thoroughly investigate all reported crimes, including crimes of family violence,
regardless of any history of or reported mental ifiness. Officers shall be reminded that only a court -
of proper jurisdiction may determine the mental competency of a suspect charged with a criminal
offense.

When the District Attorney’s Office accepts charges (Class B misdemeanor or higher) against an
aduit who is exhibiting a mental health crisis, the officer shall not transport the suspect to the
NPC. The officer shall do the following:

a. Follow the procedures outlined in General Order 500-07, Filing Proper Charges and General
Order 500-02, Handling and Transporting Prisoners and Other Persons.

b. Notify the concerned division.

c. Upon arrival at the jail, inform jail personnel that the prisoner is exhibiting a mental health
crisis and secure the prisoner in accordance with jail procedures. Officers are responsible for
the direct care, custody, and control of a prisoner until the prisoner is accepted by jail
perscnnel.

d. Complete the jail booking process required by the jail facility as outlined in General Order
500-08, Required Booking Information and Procedures.
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Charges Filed Against Juveniles Exhibiting Mental Health Crisis

When the District Attorney’s Office accepts charges (Class B misdemeanor or higher) against a
juvenile who is exhibiting a mental health crisis, the officer shall transport the juvenile suspect to
the Juvenile Division for expedited processing. The transporting officer shall then transport the
juvenile to the NPC for a mental health evaluation.

if the NPC determines that the juvenile does not require emergency mental heaith treatment, the
officer will receive a Brief Psychiatric Assessment Form completed by the NPC personnel
documenting any treatment and the release of the juvenile. The officer shall then inform the
Juvenile Division of the NPC’s mental health determination and transport the juvenile to Harris
County Juvenile Probation (HCJP).

If the NPC determines the juvenile requires emergency mental heaith treatment, the officer shall
complete a NED for the juvenile suspect, inform the NPC personnel that the juvenile suspect has
pending charges, and advise the Juvenile Division. Juvenile Division personnel will contact HCJP
and confirm if the juvenile should be tfransported to HCJP after the juvenile has received
treatment or be released to a parent or guardian. Juvenile Division personne! shali advise the
officer so that the officer can inform the NPC that the juvenile will be released to a parent,
guardian, or be held and taken to HCJP when released from the NPC.

In either circumstance, the arresting officer shall complete the incident report and charges. If the
juvenile is to be left in the custody of the NPC, then the first line in the charges shall state “Juvenile
is at the NPC under a NED for mental health treatment.”

CRISIS INTERVENTION RESPONSE TEAM (CIRT)

Officers requiring the assistance of a C/RT unit at a scene shall follow the procedures described
in General Order 600-01, Response Management. C/RT units are not to be utilized as “wagon
units” for mental health crisis calls. CIT patrol officers shall continue to be the first responders to
mental health crisis calls when possible.

JAIL DIVERSION

Officers may consider jail diversion services through the Mental Health Diversion Center when
an officer believes that symptoms of mental iliness are a contributing factor to the offense and
the individual does not pose a public safety threat. Officers may divert non-violent, low-level
misdemeanor offenders who are not in crisis and not a danger to themselves or others to the
Mental Health Diversion Center instead of filing charges or writing a citation.

To be eligible for jail diversion, the suspect must be 18 years of age or older and must agree to
go to the Diversion Center. Driving while intoxicated (DW1), assault (including domestic violence),
and weapons offenses are not eligible for consideration for jail diversion, The officer shall
determine, based on the totality of the facts, whether or not the suspect would be appropriate for
jail diversion. The officer shall consider the following when determining the totality of the facts:

a. The compiainant's decision to press charges on the suspect or utilize jail diversion services.
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b. The District Attorney's decision to press charges on the suspect or utilize jail diversion
services,

¢. The suspect does not have a violent criminal history.

d. The suspect is not a sex offender, does not have open warrants, or a pending detainer from
fmmigration and Customs Enforcement.

e. Whether the suspect has previously participated in the jail diversion program without a good
faith effort to seek voluntary assistance,

If an officer needs additional information {e.g., mental health history, diagnosis) to help determine

if jail diversion is appropriate, they may consult with the Joint Processing Center (JPC) Triage
Diversion Desk to inquire about the person’s mental health history, if available.

DOCUMENTATION

incident Report

Officers shall complete an original incident report for any incident in which a person is exhibiting
a mental health crisis. Officers shall articulate in the narrative of their incident report why they
believe the person is mentally ill and why the person is a substantial risk of serious harm to self
or others. Substantial risk shall be supported based on specific recent behaviors, overt acts of
self-harm, attempts to harm others, severe emotional distress and deterioration in the person’s
mental health condition, or threats observed by the officer or reliably reported from a credible
person. Additionally, evidence of severe emotional distress and deterioration should be
thoroughly documented, if used as a basis for determining substantial risk. Officers should avoid
using only generic or vague statements such as “consumer was a danger to seif and others” or -
“consumer needed psychiatric treatment.” Such statements do not adequately detail the
justification for the apprehension by an officer without a warrant, as required by the Texas Health
and Safety Code, Chapter 573.

The title of the incident report shall always be listed by the highest criminal offense and
“Investigation - Mental lliness” shall be listed as a secondary title. If a criminal offense was not
reported, the incident report shalf be titled “Investigation - Mental lliiness.”

If a person is reported to have committed a criminal offense, regardless of whether or not charges
are filed, the person shall be listed as a suspect and the offense shall be thoroughly investigated
per General Order 600-27, Preliminary and Follow-Up Investigations. If the person is not
reported to have comimitted an offense and is being handied for only mental health purposes, the
individual shall be listed as a complainant.

Officers shall document all license information pertaining to individuals who hold a License to
Carry (LTC), Private Security Armed Registration, or Peace Officer License. Officers shail include
the LTC license number, Private Security license number, or Peace Officer Personal
{dentification Number (PID) in the report narrative. This documentation should also list the
company or employing agency of the individual,
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Officers shall properly document items (e.g., knives, rope, pill bottles) located at a mental health
scene within the narrative of the incident report and contact the appropriate concerned division
for guidance, but shall not tag the items as evidence under the Mental Health Division (MHD).

if the incident involves a completed suicide or an attempted suicide that may cause the death of
an individual, officers shall contact the Homicide Division for guidance and authorization to tag
the items. Officers are reminded to follow the guidelines of General Order 700-01, Property and
Evidence Control Regulations, and consult with the concerned investigative division to receive
their authorization to tag firearms or property that may have evidentiary value due to involvement
in a criminal investigation.

Notification of Emergency Detention (NED)

In accordance with the Texas Health and Safety Code, Section 573.002, the NED must contain
specific and detailed information that shows that the substantial risk of harm is imminent unless
the person is immediately restrained. The NED must contain:

a. A statement that the officer has reason to believe and does helieve that the person shows
signs of mental illness and is a substantial risk of serious harm to self or others;

b. A description of the risk of harm;

c. A statement that the officer has reason to believe and does believe that the risk of harm is
imminent uniess the person is immediately restrained,

d. A description of the person's recent behavior, acts, attempts, or threats observed by the
officer or reparted by a credible person to the officer; and

e. If applicable, the name of the credible person, address, and relationship to the apprehended
person, who reported or observed the behavior, acts, attempts, or threats.

For any incident resulting in a NED, officers shall document the name of the mental health facility
or hospital where the person is to be evaluated, the name of the person who accepted the NED,
and, if applicable, the Medical Record Number (MRN) in the incident report. Officers shall request
a copy of the NED from facility personnel, then scan and upload the copy of the NED into the
incident report via Intellinetics.

SEIZURE OF FIREARMS FROM PERSONS EXHIBITING MENTAL HEALTH CRISIS

Neo Criminal Charges

Pursuant to Texas Health and Safety Code, Section 573.001(h), officers are authorized to seize
firearms only when the following criteria are established:

a. The person is exhibiting a mental health crisis, taken into custody for a NED as specified in
section 1, Authority to Apprehend,
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b. Upon detention the person is in possession of the firearm; and
c. A criminal offense inveolving the use of the firearm has not been committed.

Firearms that were not within the person’s immediate possession at the time of the person's
detention cannot be legally seized (e.g., firearms stored in a bedroom closet). The MHD shall
not authorize the seizure of firearms that do not meet the above criteria.

Officers shall obtain authorization to tag such firearms from an MHD CIRT supervisor, If unable
to contact an MHD C/RT supervisar, officers shall contact a jail HPD supervisor for authorization,
Officers shall tag the seized firearm in the Property Division. Seized firearms and other firearm
components (e.g., magazines, ammunition} shali be entered into the property tab in ARS utilizing
the involvement code "MHF.” The required forms can be accessed on the department’s Intranet
Portal.

Officers who seize a firearm from a person taken into custody shall comply with the requirements
of the CCP, Article 18.191, and immediately provide the person with the following:

d. A written copy of the receipt for the firearm (Receipt and Notice of Rights for Seized
Firearms).

e. A written notice of the procedure for the return of a firearm,

Officers shall upload copies of the seizure forms along with a copy of the NED into the incident
report via Intellinetics, Officers shall put the original Receipt and the Notice of Rights for Seized
Firearms form, along with a copy of the NED, in the MHD Drop Bax at the Property Division. The
seized firearms shall be tagged in the Property Room following the procedures outlined in
General Order 700-01, Property and Evidence Control Regulations.

Firearms Related to a Criminal Offense

Firearms used In the commission of a crime {e.g., Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon,
Deadly Conduct, Places Weapons Prohibited, Unlawful Possession of Firearm) shail be
treated as evidence and shall not be seized under the CCP, Article 18.191. Instead, officers
shall follow the guidelines of General Order 700-01, Property and Evidence Control
Regulations, and consult with the concerned investigative division to tag firearms with
evidentiary value.

PREMISE HISTORY PROCEDURES

If there is reason to believe that the mental health related information indicates a possible
risk to the safety of responding officers, the mentally ill person, or another person at the
location, then a premise history request shall be completed. Premise histories shall not be
placed on a location solely because a person who resides at that location suffers from mental
iflness.

Officers can access the Premise History Request form on the department’s Intranet Portal and
email it to HPD.CIT@Houstonpolice.org. Officers and supervisors shall not contact the
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Emergency Communications Division (ECD) to request that a mental health premise history be
placed on a location.

The MHD shall authorize, enter, and maintain all mental health related premise history entries.

Aft Acevedo

Chief of Police




